Date: April 18, 2019

Time: 9:00 Washington / 15:00 Johannesburg / 16:00 Nairobi

Read more: Planning for Outcomes (P4O) model

Some observational studies have raised concerns about a possible link between the use of progestogen-only injectable contraceptives, particularly depot medroxyprogesterone acetate (DMPA), and the risk of HIV acquisition. The ongoing Evidence for Contraceptive Options and HIV Outcomes (ECHO) trial is comparing DMPA, levonorgestrel implants, and copper intrauterine device (IUD) use on risk of HIV acquisition among women in four African countries, with results expected in 2019. Depending on the evidence obtained from the ECHO trial, injectable use could be reduced in countries with high HIV burden. P4O was developed to help officials in countries be able to assess how restrictions on DMPA use could affect HIV and maternal and child health outcomes and what it might take to compensate for such restrictions.

Source: GoToWebinar

Photo credit: ECHO Communications

Webinar: Introduction to Planning for Outcomes (P4O) Model